• Home
  • News
  • Buhari renames Airports after Awolowo, Danfodio, Idiagbon, others

Buhari renames Airports after Awolowo, Danfodio, Idiagbon, others

Outgoing President Buhari has approved the renaming of 15 airports after some prominent Nigerians.

A statement released by the Ministry of Aviation and signed by the Head of Press and Public Affairs, Odutayo Oluseyi, disclosed that the approval was given on Friday, May 2.

According to the statements, the airports to be renamed include Akure International Airport named after Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu; Benin International Airport now known as Oba Akenzua II; Dutse International Airport renamed Muhammed Nuhu Sanusi; Ebonyi International Airport renamed Chuba Wilberforce airport and Gombe International Airport renamed Brigadier Zakari Maimalari.

Others include Ibadan International Airport renamed after Samuel Ladoke Akintola; Ilorin International Airport renamed after General Tunde Abdullahi Idiagbon; Kaduna International Airport renamed after Gen. Hassan Usman Katsina and Maiduguri International Airport renamed after President Muhammadu Buhari.

The statement added that Makurdi International Airport will now be known as Joseph Sarwuan Tarka; Minna International Airport renamed Mall. Abubakar Imam; Nasarrawa International Airport renamed after Sheikh Usman Danfodio; Osubi International Airport renamed Alfred Diete Spiff; Port Harcourt International Airport renamed Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo and Yola International Airport now known as Lamido Aliyu Mustapha Airport.

Related posts

Gov. Matawalle backs death penalty for bandits, signs bill


NBC suspends Channels TV for speaking with IPOB


The situation in the country is so bad that I can’t guarantee Nigeria staying in the next six months – SAN, Robert Clarke


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More