• Home
  • News
  • Election will not hold in 240 polling units – INEC

Election will not hold in 240 polling units – INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said on Monday, Feb. 13, that elections will not hold in about 240 polling units across 28 States of the federation.

INEC Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu disclosed this when he addressed members of the Inter Party Advisory Council (IPAC) at the INEC headquarters in Abuja ahead of the elections.

He explained that the affected polling units have no registered voter.

He said with the exclusion of the 240 polling units, election will take place in about 176,606 polling units across the country.

Yakubu said: There are 240 polling units without registered voters spread across 28 States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). They range from one polling unit to 12 polling units in each State and the FCT, except Taraba and Imo States with 34 and 38 polling units respectively.

No new registrants chose the polling units and no voters indicated interest to transfer to them during the last Continuous Voter Registration (CVR), mainly for security reasons. This means that no elections will hold in these polling units.

The Commission also warned that it will not accept a situation where two or more party agents report to the polling units and caused confusion. INEC added that any agent found to be engaged in such act will be arrested and prosecuted.

Related posts

320 stranded Europe-bound Nigerians rescued from Libya


Tinubu’s probe is currently ongoing — EFCC Chairman


No one is safe in the country as Governors are also being attacked – Wike


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More